Montana, still…

All I could think was at least it looks different. The mountians appeared through the smoke as I approached Browning. I pedalled on to East Glacier, happy with each stroke for the tall pines and change in the horizon.

I got settled in my campsite just on the edge of town. It was perfect walking distance to the historic Glacier Lodge (which is now on my adventure list of places to stay) and to the quaint little town with a variety of shops and cafes.

As the day faded to evening, one of the other groups camping invited me to dinner with them. I had already eaten, but said I’d tag along for a beverage. The old cowboy, Al and his young friends, Emily and Dave were adventuring themselves. Al had spent a lot of time in Montana and had brought these two young friends from Tennessee and New York to experience the grand beauty of Glacier. They had been hiking all day and were awestruck by the vastness of the views. Al had spent the day connecting with old friends. They were a welcome social outing as I was beginning to feel homesick.

Filled up with lovely conversation, I headed back to my tent to prepare for the next day. I would climb over the Rockies through Marias Pass. This day had been on my mind since the beginning of this journey and I was nervous. Climb the Rockies? Could I do that?

I started early and was prepared to take all day to climb. I had planned 2 short days and then a rest day. I was sure this climb would be epicly brutal. Much to my surprise the pass came quickly and the climbing gentle. Later, a park volunteer told me it is the lowest pass in the Rockies and made Burlington Northern Rail very rich because they could move their trains through more efficiently than everyone else.

I arrived in West Glacier early in the afternoon, giving me time to explore and get ice cream after getting my camp set. It was almost like a rest day.

From West Glacier I had an easy day heading a little off route to stay with a friend of a friend for a rest day.

This wonderful family was a bright spot for my increasingly homesick heart. They cared for me so well and I was able to rest before the last push home. Their beautiful home was just the beginning. Twila made delicious meals from the food in her garden. Jessica and Zach with their darling children kept me company. Tess had just returned from a mission experience in the Ukraine and shared about her recent adventures and mused about what to come. Twila’s husband, Cal delighted in his beautiful family. It was such a joy for me to just be present with them.

Twila, Tess and I went to Kalispel to shop. I ended up wandering into the Community Action Office. They shared about the many ways they are feeding people in the community. They pointed me to United Way. So after a yummy lunch, Twila took me over to the old mall. The mall had been deserted and sat empty. United Way had the vision to reopen the mall with all the local community services in one place. They converted the food court into a place to feed children, the stores are offices and event spaces for senior services, literacy, Americorps, and United Way. They are working to add after school care and senior day care. It was inpriring to hear about the vision United Way in Kalispel has to take care of its community in relationship with other nonprofits and churches.

With that, my rest day was over and I was pedalling off to Libby, MT. What should have been a pretty straightforward day of pedalling, turned out to be a huge challenge due to the headwind. I had to work to pedal downhill. Exhausted, I finally reached Libby and set my camp in the city park.

The world is small sometimes! As I prepared for my evening in the campground, a couple came by and asked about my adventures. She happened to be the cousin of long time mayor of Anacortes, Dean Maxwell. They gave a donation to CHOW and offered me a steak dinner. I was already set up for the night so I declined. This little interaction reminded me how connected we all really are and made me even more homesick. I went to sleep knowing that the next day I’d finally leave Montana!

Things I Learned

  • Food directly from the garden trumps even the finest restaurant.
  • This California native has turned in her card for the PNW. I would not want to live anywhere else. Well, because coffee!
  • Wildfires are no joke and the smoke is such a problem! Be safe firefighters and thank you for all your work ( Love you Tori Clawson and Mackenzie Cooley. Be safe!)

Roadkill Count

  • 9 birds
  • 1 large rattlesnake
  • 6 deer
  • 1 rabbit
  • 3 skunks
  • 1 turtle
  • 1 lizard

One thought on “Montana, still…

Leave a comment